top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJessica

Oh the Places You'll go

Sorry for the super long delay in writing, but this girl has been on the road! May was filled with new sights, food, drink, and most importantly, lots of family. I feel so lucky to have support from all over the world and to be able to share in this European adventure with so many people that I love. It honestly feels weird to be sitting in my Wohnung this weekend writing, as my new normal has been hopping on a plane or train to explore a new part of the continent. But no matter. It is in some ways nice to be in one place again and have the time to see my friends in Cologne as I prepare for the home stretch!


May began with a visit from Richie in Munich, the first place abroad that he and I ever saw together. We drank beers, ate schnitzel, rode bikes, and walked all over the city, seeing parts we had never before come across. In many ways, Munich feels much more like home than Cologne -- I love the ornate architecture, the sprawling English Gardens, the international atmosphere emanating from the embassies, and of course, the giant beers! I have only been to Munich three times, but somehow I know how to get from place to place like a native. I guess that familiarity combined with the city's classic-European sensibility is why I like it so much. Munich is Boston and Cologne is Philly -- both are great, but one is definitely unforgettable :).


In the following weeks, I made my way back to London to visit the wonderful Fowler family. Though I arrived two days after the Royal Wedding, I still felt the royal treatment at their classic British cottage. I had a lovely time unwinding and enjoying their beautiful garden and the nature all around, reading two books, visiting Windsor (but no, we did not see the Queen), eating incredible food, and going to an American art exhibit in Oxford (yes, I see the irony there!). The Newman-Frankel/Fowler relationship represents the highest form of family commitment and unity, and I am proud to be maintaining the connection that my grandmother fostered so many years ago.


I returned to Cologne for a week and then I was back on the road again, this time to Milan, Italy, where I met Leslie, Mike, and Ruth. Milan is a cosmopolitan city of streets filled with boutiques (Mommy, if you're reading this, we have to go back to go shopping ;)!) and breathtaking sights. I'm sure this is old news, but did you know the food in Italy is out of this world ;)?! We ate gelato, pasta, tiramisu, hams, cheeses, breads, fruits, and even some Chinese dim sum in China town. I cannot wait to return to Italy to try more, and I am so thankful I was able to experience a new city with my incredible family and the ducks.


The following week was a whirlwind: home for three days then BACK on a plane, this time to Bologna, Italy. Leslie, Mike, Ruth, and the ducks were there to greet me once again, and we quickly sat down to a tasting plate of different Italian cheeses, meats, and breads, all staples of Bolognese cuisine. We also hiked a huge hill up to a Cathedral overlooking the city (and in classic Bolognese-style, it was completely covered in a portico), and we ate at some incredible restaurants. Are you sensing a pattern here about food in Italy ;)? But the best part of the trip was getting to see Elizabeth in Europe! She and I climbed up a tower, visited a museum of music, ate gelato, walked and walked and walked, tried different variations of parmesan, and just hung out together at the hotel watching Netflix. I feel very lucky to be so close to my sister and to be able to explore the world with her. I hope we can travel together again soon!


I am back in Cologne now and ready to take on these last 4.5 weeks in Germany. My final trip is in two weeks, when I'll finally make it up to Hamburg! In retrospect, it is funny how quickly the time passes. I cannot say this year has been easy; it's been filled with self-discoveries -- some good and some bad -- bouts of homesickness, and frequent loneliness. Yet, it has been equally incredible: I have made some lifelong friends from all over the world; I have explored new countries and cities in Europe; I have tried new cuisines; I have taught about my culture and learned about other cultures; I have become fluent in German; I have gained confidence in myself and my independence; and I cannot believe that in just over four weeks this will all be over. I have highly mixed feelings -- this all feels bittersweet -- but I am so glad that I am this conflicted. That means that this year was completely and totally worth it, and that despite some of the struggles, I am so grateful to have had this opportunity and people and places to miss. The US will always be home, but Europe, you're pretty great, and I cannot wait to come back to you soon.


34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2023 by Classical Musician. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • w-facebook
  • White Instagram Icon
  • Twitter Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
bottom of page