top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJessica

November and December

Hello again, my lovely readers! Thank you for taking the time to gain further insight into my life and musings. It has been a full five weeks of traveling, exploring, and learning since I last wrote.


Soon after my last post, I met my dad in Amsterdam. We had a wonderful time meandering through the city streets, crossing over canals, visiting art and history museums (where of course, we found some Barnett Newman!), and drinking lots of Heineken; we found Anne Frank's house, ate Dutch pancakes, looked but decided not to pick a lady in the window ;), and did our best to avoid getting hit by bikes, which seem to reign over the city. While most of the German cities have been essentially rebuilt

over the last 70-80 years following World War II, Amsterdam is like a time-capsule, its original brick architecture lending an old-fashioned charm to its progressive and vibrant culture.


The following week presented a welcomed surprise. Gabe was to perform with his chorus in Aachen, a city south of Cologne with ancient connections to Charlemagne, so I decided to hop on a train and see him. Not only was it comforting to catch up with an old friend, but it was also a

pleasure to watch him sing in perhaps one of the most beautiful churches I have

ever seen (unfortunately, the pictures don't do it justice!).


And then came Thanksgiving. I must admit it was hard being in Germany for my favorite holiday, only able to see my family over the wonders of FaceTime (which, of course, was better than nothing). The day was not the same without the traditional meal and all the trimmings, but I am thankful to have roommates and friends like Pier and Gemma, who celebrated with me in our own international style in order to make my US-yearnings a bit more manageable: Spanish meats and sausage from Gemma, Döner kebab from Pier, and my own American addition, stuffing, which I made from scratch! I was happy to share an American tradition with them, and relieved that they liked my cooking!


Next came a weekend in Brussels with Gemma. It was FREEZING (and believe me, I cannot wait to get back to the US so I can get my real winter coat), but it was also stunning! The city is packed with breathtaking buildings and plazas, museums and incredible food. If I had to compare it to anything, it reminds me of the tradition of Amsterdam combined with the grandeur of Paris. I had the best waffle I have ever had and some pretty exceptional fries, and I got to try my hand at a little French again. If you are ever looking for another city to visit in Europe, I would recommend Brussels wholeheartedly. In fact, I would like to return at some point and visit the musical instrument museum -- I think that's up my ally ;).



Coinciding with the return from Brussels was the opening of the Christmas market season! I have visited every market in the city with friends, and I have traveled to Düsseldorf and Bonn to visit their markets. I love collecting Glühwein (mulled wine) mugs from the different markets and trying the traditional German foods while peeking at stall after stall of Christmas goodies and artisan crafts. Believe me, it is a challenge not to buy every chocolate, pretzel, cookie, or cheese, but I am managing ;).



It's funny...as I write down everything I have experienced and seen over the last month, I am reminded of just how much I am achieving (and I could not even fit every experience into this post for your sake, reader!). But I do not always feel very productive here. I have a lot more free time now than I had in undergrad, so I often wonder if I am exploring enough, seeing as much as possible, and being as social as I can be. Sometimes I feel lonely -- I have friends with whom I've traveled, explored, and relaxed, but it's not the same, close-knit community I had at Eastman, where there was someone to talk to or joke with every day. However, the reality is that I need to be a bit easier on myself, enjoy my free time, and recognize just how much I have accomplished. I am living and growing as much as I can, and if that means I choose to stay in one night instead of going to a club because I know that just ain't me, then that's okay. Writing down my experiences has reminded me that I am doing well and trying my best to step out of my comfort zone and make the most of my European life. I look forward to seeing what adventures come next!

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2023 by Classical Musician. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • w-facebook
  • White Instagram Icon
  • Twitter Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
bottom of page